About Us  >  Committees  >  Regional Operational Safety Committee
Regional Operational Safety Committee

ACI Asia-Pacific Regional Operational Safety Committee

The ACI Asia-Pacific Regional Operational Safety Committee is a standing technical body responsible for promoting aerodrome operational best practices and formulating collective positions for airport operators on issues related to aerodrome safety. Its mandate, structure and meeting rules are defined in its terms of reference. Its members are typically senior airfield operations managers or aerodrome SMS managers. The committee usually meet twice a year.

The Chair and the Vice-Chair are elected to two-year terms by members of the committee. Permanent employees of ACI Asia-Pacific member airports with current responsibility in aerodrome operations or implementation and maintenance of aerodrome SMS are encouraged to join the committee by completing and returning the nomination form. The current members and past chairs with their years of service are listed below:

Chair : Narayanasamy Venkatachalapathy, GMR Hyderabad International Airport Limited
Vice-Chair : pending election


AbdulHakim AlShaibani, Bahrain Airport Company

Anil Kumar Garg, Airports Authority of India

David Wilson, Oman Airports Management Company

In Kie Na, Incheon International Airport Corporation

José Manuel Cohen Marçal, Macau International Airport

Masao Fujita, Narita International Airport Corporation

Michael Chih-Chia Chen, Taoyuan Airport Corporation

Mohammad Elahinia, Iran Airports and Air Navigation Company

Naushad Mytheen Kannu, Dubai Airports

Oliver Kiesewetter, Changi Airport Group, Singapore

Pedro Cavém, Yangon Aerodrome Company Limited

Phethai Chanthima, Airports of Thailand Public Company Limited

Satya Subramaniam, Bangalore International Airport

Samer AL-Tayyan, Queen Alia International Airport, Jordan

Turki Al-Aufi, GACA, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Ui Seok Sul, Korea Airports Corporation

Wing Yeung, Airport Authority Hong Kong
Zengwu Xie, Beijing Capital International Airport

Past Chairs:
2008 - 2009 Brett Patterson, Vancouver Airport Authority
2010 - 2011 Zanita Zakaria, Malaysia Airports Holdings Bhd
2012 - 2014 Eun-Byul Kim, Incheon International Airport Corporation

2014 - 2016 Smaël Banse, Queen Alia International Airport, Jordan 

2016 - 2018 Cheng Ling Perng, Malaysia Airports Holdings Bhd

(Last updated: 13 February 2019)

For further information or to join this Committee, please contact SL Wong at sl@aci-asiapac.aero.

WBP Capability Database

Created with the objective to benefit both airports and World Business Partner members, the WBP Capability Database is a unique platform where WBP of ACI Asia-Pacific can showcase their expertise with examples of projects undertaken or in progress while airport members can input search criteria to look for potential business partners to accomplish their airport development projects. 


The WBP Capability Database is a unique service that is only available to WBP of ACI Asia-Pacific.

View More